Skip to Content

Federal & California Holiday Calendar 2022/2023

2022 and 2023 holiday dates with federal observance dates. There are eleven Federal and ten California holidays observed by the United States and California governments. Not all eleven are the same between the U.S. government and State of California. States and private companies are not required to observe federal holidays, but most state and local governments as well as many private businesses are also closed on these days.

Federal and California Holiday Calendar

Aside from celebrating all federal holidays, California observes Rosa Parks Day on February 4 and César Chávez Day on March 31. California also considers the day after Thanksgiving a holiday.

2022 Holiday Calendar

  • New Year’s Day (Federal/California Holiday): Saturday, January 1, 2022; Observed Friday, December 31, 2021
  • Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday (Federal/California Holiday)*1: Monday, January 17, 2022; Third Monday in January
  • Chinese New Year: Tuesday, Feb. 1, 2022
  • Rosa Parks Day (California Holiday): Friday, February 4, 2022
  • Valentine’s Day: Monday, Feb. 14, 2022
  • Washington’s Birthday aka President’s Day*2 (Federal/California Holiday): Monday, February 21; Third Monday in February
  • St. Patrick’s Day: Thursday, March 17, 2022
  • César Chávez Day (California Holiday)*3: Thursday, March 31, 2022
  • Ramadan: Monday, April 2 to Tuesday, May 2, 2022
  • Easter: Monday, April 4, 2022
  • Tax Day*4: Monday, April 18, 2022 (filing date)
  • Earth Day: Friday, April 22, 2022
  • Cinco de Mayo: Thursday, May 5, 2022
  • Mother’s Day: Sunday, May 8, 2022; Second Sunday in May
  • Memorial Day (Federal/California Holiday): Monday, May 30, 2022; Last Monday in May
  • D-Day: Monday, June 6, 2022
  • Juneteenth: Sunday, June 19, 2022
  • Father’s Day: Sunday, June 19, 2022; Third Sunday in June
  • Independence Day (Federal/California Holiday): Monday, July 4, 2022
  • Labor Day (Federal/California Holiday): Monday, September 5, 2022; First Monday in September
  • Patriot Day: Sunday, September 11, 2022
  • Columbus Day (Federal Holiday)*5: October 10, 2022
  • Indigenous People’s Day: October 10, 2022
  • Halloween: Monday, Oct. 31, 2022
  • Election Day: Tuesday, November 8, 2022; Always on a Tuesday
  • Veteran’s Day (Federal Holiday): Friday, November 11, 2022
  • Thanksgiving Day (Federal Holiday): Thursday, November 24, 2022; Third Thursday in November
  • Day After Thanksgiving (California Holiday): Friday, November 25, 2022
  • Black Friday: Friday, November 25, 2022; Third Friday in November
  • Cyber Monday: Monday, Nov. 28, 2022; Monday after Black Friday
  • Giving Tuesday: Tuesday, Nov. 29, 2022; Tuesday after Thanksgiving
  • Pearl Harbor: Wednesday, Dec. 7, 2022
  • Christmas Eve: Saturday, December 24, 2022
  • Christmas Day (Federal/California Holiday): Sunday, December 25, 2022; Observed Monday, December 26, 2022
  • New Year’s Eve: Saturday, December 31, 2022

2023 Holiday Calendar

  • New Year’s Day (Federal/California Holiday): Sunday, January 1, 2023; Observed Monday, January 2, 2023
  • Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday (Federal Holiday/California)*1: Monday, January 16, 2023; Third Monday in January
  • Chinese New Year: Sunday, January 22, 2023
  • Rosa Parks Day (California Holiday): Saturday, February 4, 2023
  • Valentine’s Day: Tuesday, February 14, 2023
  • Washington’s Birthday aka President’s Day*2 (Federal Holiday/California): Monday, February 20; Third Monday in February
  • St. Patrick’s Day: Friday, March 17, 2023
  • César Chávez Day (California Holiday)*3: Friday, March 31, 2023
  • Ramadan: Friday, April 1 to Sunday, May 1, 2023
  • Easter: Sunday, April 9, 2023
  • Tax Day*4: Monday, April 17, 2023 (filing date)
  • Earth Day: Saturday, April 22, 2023
  • Cinco de Mayo: Friday, May 5, 2023
  • Mother’s Day: Sunday, May 14, 2023; Second Sunday in May
  • Memorial Day (Federal Holiday/California): Monday, May 29, 2023; Last Monday in May
  • D-Day: Tuesday, June 6, 2023
  • Juneteenth (Federal Holiday): Monday, June 19, 2023
  • Father’s Day: Sunday, June 18, 2023; Third Sunday in June
  • Independence Day (Federal/California Holiday): Tuesday, July 4, 2023
  • Labor Day (Federal/California Holiday): Monday, September 4, 2023; First Monday in September
  • Patriot Day: Monday, September 11, 2023
  • Columbus Day (Federal Holiday)*5: Monday, October 9, 2023
  • Indigenous People’s Day: Monday, October 9, 2023
  • Halloween: Tuesday, Oct. 31, 2023
  • Election Day: Tuesday, November 8, 2023; Always on a Tuesday
  • Veteran’s Day (Federal/California Holiday): Saturday, November 11, 2023; Observed Friday, November 10, 2023
  • Thanksgiving Day (Federal/California Holiday): Thursday, November 23, 2023; Fourth Thursday in November
  • Day After Thanksgiving (California Holiday): Friday, November 24, 2023
  • Black Friday: Friday, November 24, 2023; Fourth Friday in November
  • Cyber Monday: Monday, Nov. 27, 2023; Monday after Black Friday
  • Giving Tuesday: Tuesday, Nov. 28, 2023; Tuesday after Thanksgiving
  • Pearl Harbor: Thursday, Dec. 7, 2023
  • Christmas Eve: Sunday, December 24, 2023
  • Christmas Day (Federal/California Holiday): Monday, December 25, 2023
  • New Year’s Eve: Sunday, December 31, 2023

For Federal and California, when a holiday falls on a Saturday, employees shall receive holiday credit.

For the Federal and California, when a holiday falls on a Sunday, the holiday is observed on the following Monday.

An Observed Holiday is when a public federal, state, or local holiday is celebrated on a date that is not the actual event’s anniversary date.

Private employers almost universally observe six holidays. The “standard six” are New Year’s Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day. After the standard six, the Friday after Thanksgiving, Good Friday, and Presidents Day are the next most commonly observed.

California State Holidays

California Closed Public School Days Off

  • New Year’s Day
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day or the Monday or Friday in the week in which January 15 falls
  • The Monday or Friday of the week in which Lincoln Day falls
  • Washington Day
  • Memorial Day
  • July 4th
  • Labor Day
  • Veterans Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Christmas Day
  • Any other day designated by the president or governor
  • Any other day designated by the governing school board

Calendar Notes

  1. Martin Luther King Jr. Day is celebrated to mark the birthday of Dr. King, and is observed on the third Monday in January. His actual birthday is January 15.
  2. According to the federal government, the holiday observed on the third Monday in February is officially Washington’s Birthday. But many Americans believe that this holiday is called “Presidents’ Day,” in honor of both Presidents Washington and Lincoln, whose birthdays are Feb. 22 and Feb. 12, respectively.
  3. Cesar Chavez Day (March 31) is not a Holiday observed statewide. Although State of California employees get the day off, most school districts, businesses and federal employees still have to work.
  4. April 15th of each year is National Tax Day. The Federal income tax filing deadline is midnight on April 15th of every year, with extensions occurring when the 15th lands on a Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday.
  5. Columbus Day is not a paid holiday for State of California employees.
New Years Eve Events In Orange County
Orange County Halloween Events
Winter Events In Orange County