Here are ten new California laws to know that are effective January 1, 2023 and why they matter.
Minimum Wage Increase
All employers, regardless of size, must provide their employees a minimum wage of not less than $15.50 per hour.
Transparency of Pay Scales
Starting on January 1, employers with at least 15 workers are now required to include pay ranges in job postings. Employees will also be able to ask for the pay range for their own position, and companies with more than 100 employees will have to provide more detailed pay data to California’s Civil Rights Department than previously required.
Effective January 1, 2023, the Governor proclaimed the following holidays, which may be taken in lieu of receiving a personal holiday for state employees.
- Lunar New Year: Sunday, January 22
- Genocide Remembrance Day: Monday, April 24
- Juneteenth: Monday, June 19
- Native American Day: Friday, September 22
- Passing Bicyclist: AB 1909, also known as the OmniBike Bill, requires drivers to change lanes “with due regard for safety and traffic conditions, if practicable and not prohibited by law”, when passing a bicyclist, just as they would if they were passing a vehicle.
- Electric Bikes on Bike Paths: Cities and local governing bodies cannot prohibit e-bikes from access to most bike paths except hiking, equestrian, and recreational trails.
- Bicycles & Walk Signals: Bicyclists can cross the road on pedestrian walk signals instead of waiting for a green traffic light.
- No Bicycle Licensing Laws: Prohibits cities and local governing bodies from requiring people to get a bicycle license and register their bikes.
Find more on California Electric Bike Laws.
The Freedom to Walk Act for 2023 will prevent California police from targeting random walkers with criminal charges and instead requires a simple test: “immediate danger of a collision.”
Ban on “Pink Tax”
This new California law prohibits higher prices for products marketed to a particular gender. Known as the “Pink Tax” products such as a pink razor for woman cannot be priced higher than the same men’s razor.
Prohibits the the sale and manufacture of new fur clothing and accessories. Secondhand fur clothing and décor can still be sold.
The use of Rap lyrics as evidence in criminal trials is limited.
The law prohibits the sale of menthol and other flavored cigarettes as well as flavored tobacco for vape pens.
Prohibits HOAs from disciplining or fining homeowners who criticize HOA rules on social media. It also allows homeowners to rent their owner-occupied home for more than 30 days even if it is not allowed by the HOA.
|California Electric Bike Laws||Last Call For Alcohol: California Alcohol Laws|
|Rules of the Road: California Laws for E-Scooters||California Window Tint Laws|
|Street Legal Golf Carts||Difference Between Carpool, HOV, Fastrak, Express Lanes|
Monique McArthur is a mother of two, writer, and creator of delicious recipes. In her spare time she enjoys exploring all that Orange County has to offer, traveling, shopping, running with her dogs and spending time with family.